Those who remember 1999 might remember when the soundtrack to The Phantom Menace was released. Coming out well in advance of the movie’s release, the titles of the songs were a spoiler fan’s delight – or an anti-spoiler fan’s nightmare.

With track titles like “Anakin defeats Sebulba”, “The Droid Invasion”, “Qui-Gon’s Noble End”, and “Qui-Gon’s Funeral”, you didn’t have to spend too much energy thinking about the course of events in the film.

While I’m certain that Lucasfilm would have preferred to keep the track titles completely under wraps until December 18th, that was probably an unrealistic expectation. It was reported this afternoon that the French Amazon site has the track listing for The Force Awakens. So what can we glean from the track titles? (Update: Amazon France has removed the track titles from its site) If you really want the track titles, I’ve posted them far below, but there’s actually not too much to worry about if you’re spoiler-phobic. Most of the track titles hearken to scenes we’ve already seen in TV spots and trailers, but there are a couple that send up red flags.

A couple weeks ago I posted what I thought would be heard on the soundtrack. While my titles were broad, generic guesses, I think I nailed at least half of them. Sure, many of them were layups, like Rey’s theme, or the Main Title, but I called out 22 different tracks, while the official listing has 23. I’ll call that a win!

Referring to the titles by number, I don’t understand what the difference is between #2 and #6 since they’re both clearly about the same person. I have no idea what #9 is, and #10 has me wondering what that could be other than admitting to doing some crappy things in the past.

Want to join in the discussion? Check out the track listing here, and either hit me up in the comments or @tumblingsaber.





1. Main Title and the Attack on the Jakku Village

2. The Scavenger

3. I Can Fly Anything

4. Rey Meets BB-8

5. Follow Me

6. Rey’s Theme

7. The Falcon

8. That Girl with the Staff

9. The Rathtars!

10. Finn’s Confession

11. Maz’s Counsel

12. The Starkiller

13. Kylo Ren Arrives at the Battle

14. The Abduction

15. Han and Leia

16. March of the Resistance

17. Snoke

18. On the Inside

19. Torn Apart

20. The Ways of the Force

21. Scherzo for X-Wings

22. Farewell and the Trip

23. The Jedi Steps and Finale

Like us? We would be honoured if you would support TumblingSaber on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *